Skip to content
November 20, 2013 / ginavoskov2013

This is a placeholder for actual writing.

I’m writing this while an unopened delivery bag of arroz con pollo sits on the table. My house smells like burnt carrot and I haven’t showered. I have milk staining my shirt from when Edie drooled while falling asleep nursing and the only thing I have had today is coffee. I am pretty sure I could not even imagine what this whole thing was supposed to be like when I first saw that “+” sign on the stick, but ignorance is bliss, right?

This is bliss, too, most of the time. But what is not so much bliss is that Edie has found a new sound to make, namely one she makes while clinging to my neck, opening her mouth, pushing noise out, and not stopping for…let’s see…it’s been five hours now. It’s not the sweet babble I’m used to, it’s more the sound of a squished cow giving birth. Kind of like this:Ā  “Ehhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhhv.”

Ā 

If I could make a sound right now, it would probably be that one, too.

I am not going to talk about sleep because I AM SO TIRED OF TALKING ABOUT SLEEP. Please, please, please. Do not ask me about sleep. Can you imagine what sleep with an infant is like after going for 34 years without one? If so, please try to continue imagining it and then you’ll have your answer. Why the first question a person asks a new mother is “How are you sleeping?” is beyond me. The topic of sleep is OFF LIMITS. FOREVER. I don’t even care if you’re related to me. We will not talk about sleep.

Ā 

I don’t know what I was thinking, starting a new blog. Like I’d have time to write?

We are going to Boston tomorrow. Just the two of us. I’m going to present at a conference. I am admitting here, right now, that fewer than 48 hours are left and I have yet to practice. This time last year, when I presented at the same conference, I had rehearsed that thing inside out. Now I am staring at that arroz con pollo and thinking I can probably wing the presentation.

Here’s something interesting. Now that Edie’s almost 6 months, she can start to have food other than milk. So I’ve given her apple, pear, clementine, and banana. She loves them all and sobs when I take the chunks of fruit away from her. She has no teeth, so she can only suck on the juice, but I can tell she’s going to be very excited about food. Just like her mother. Actually, I can tell she’s going to be pretty food motivated, too, (also just like her mother) because I got her to roll over this morning while holding a piece of clementine above her head. I gave it to her afterwards, don’t worry.

You guys, it is time to eat. I apologize for the weeks and weeks of not writing, but, you know, see above.

And don’t get me wrong. This little hectic moment is but a sliver of my days with Edie. She is a total peach and I am madly in love with her. Do not think for a moment that I am not thrilled with being her mother. It is okay to write about the hard times.

8 Comments

Leave a Comment
  1. meeshie / Nov 20 2013 1:53 pm

    I’m at 7 1/2 months so.. teething.. and starting to crawl.. plus all of what you said. It’s fun, isn’t it? LOL

  2. Lisa / Nov 20 2013 2:24 pm

    Sleep much? Okay, just had to say it :-). You and Edie look so incredibly gorgeous in the photos that accompany this blog. I know you will be inspirational this weekend in Boston, as you always inspired me just listening to you speak while standing in your classroom what now–thank goodness–seems like centuries ago.

    • ginavoskov2013 / Nov 20 2013 10:04 pm

      Ah, Lisa. You always know how to make me feel like I can DO. Thank you.

  3. Mike LoMonico / Nov 20 2013 3:44 pm

    I am so looking forward to seeing you both in Boston.

    • ginavoskov2013 / Nov 20 2013 10:03 pm

      I’m bringing my book to have it autographed! šŸ™‚

  4. meeshie / Nov 20 2013 9:15 pm

    By the way.. I’m glad you’re okay. I was starting to wonder! šŸ™‚

    • ginavoskov2013 / Nov 20 2013 10:02 pm

      šŸ™‚ Everything is okay. It’s amazing how much busier I am now that she’s getting older!

Leave a Reply

